World No. 1 Iga Swiatek named the WTA Participant of the Yr for 2022

Rate this post

Iga Swiatek Getty 2022 US Open
Getty Photos

World No. 1 Iga Swiatek was named the WTA Participant of the Yr for the primary time in her profession. The 2020 Newcomer of the Yr had a very breakout season as she led the tour in finals reached, trophies received and match victories. 

Swiatek’s profitable season noticed eight match wins, together with two Grand Slam titles. She took the French Open in June and the US Open title in September, turning into the primary girl to win two Grand Slams in a single season since Angelique Kerber in 2016.

She received 67 matches and registered a 37-match successful streak from February to July — which turned the longest undefeated stretch in ladies’s tennis since Steffi Graf received 66 consecutive matches over 1989 and 1990.

“I felt like every thing clicked this season,” Swiatek stated in a video interview with the Related Press throughout her unbeaten streak. “And I wasn’t anticipating to be that constant.”

The 21-year-old from Poland was wonderful on clay in 2022 however remains to be working to enhance in grass. Her successful streak ended within the third spherical of Wimbledon in opposition to Alizé Cornet. Swiatek celebrated the tip of the season in November with a enjoyable video on Instagram that referenced the Lion King. On the finish of the video titled “Queen of Tennis”, there’s a joke about how “the little darkish space” of grass does not fairly belong to her but.

The opposite WTA awards included Beatriz Haddad Maia as Most Improved Participant of the Yr, turning into the primary Brazilian girl to win one of many WTA participant honors since they had been launched in 1977. Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova received Doubles Staff of the Yr for the second season in a row and third time total.

Full listing of WTA awards:

  • Participant of the Yr: Iga Swiatek
  • Doubles Staff of the Yr: Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova
  • Most Improved Participant of the Yr: Beatriz Haddad Maia
  • Newcomer of the Yr: Zheng Qinwen
  • Comeback Participant of the Yr: Tatjana Maria

2022 WTA Participant Service Awards, as voted for by WTA gamers:

  • Karen Krantzcke Sportsmanship Award: Ons Jabeur
  • Peachy Kellmeyer Participant Service Award: Gabriela Dabrowski
  • Jerry Diamond ACES Award: Maria Sakkari
  • Coach of the Yr (as voted on by WTA registered coaches): David Witt

Source link